Soul Explosion

staxtumblr_inline_n70m8qn4Dk1rmfos6

At our last dance party on Friday, Oct. 16th, we danced our butts off to a playlist courtesy of DJ Prisoner (okay–that’s me!) I packed the music mix with an hour’s worth of soul music–and soul-inspired funk, rhythm & blues, and rock.  I’ve been listening to a lot of soul lately.  This summer, I watched the documentary movie Respect Yourself: The Story of Stax Records and the soundtrack was just too good to not submerse myself in it for longer.  At least nine of the tracks on this playlist are from Stax recording artists.  I’m always looking for inspiration for another playlist to share at DDPP so right after I watched the movie, I began putting together this soul mix.  What inspires you to create playlists?

This little kid in the video is channeling his inner Godfather of Soul (James Brown).

The complete playlist for Soul Explosion:

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 10.29.50 PM

I selected the warm-up song from another movie–Jim Jarmusch’s latest Only Lovers Left Alive.  Who doesn’t love dancing vampires?

Miss out on Soul Explosion?  You have another chance to dance this month yet.  We have a 5th Friday in October–so we’ll be meeting to dance again on Friday Oct. 30th, at 8pm.  Get ready for fun!  We’ll see you on the dance floor.

thriller-artspace-hiawatha

Leave a Reply

